This is where I’m supposed to say something very professional about my achievements and who I am or be witty and fun. “Wife, mother, grandmother, teacher, coach, entrepreneur, paleo/real food follower.” Here are some of the things my friends said when I put out a request to describe me; bold, insightful, driven, problem solver, analytical, outside-the-box thinker, go-getter, doer, funny, sassy, kind, caring, and courageous. My experience and background has been quite varied, making me a “Jack (or Jill) of all trades; master of none”. My life has been difficult at times and I learned to “survive”. I am now in the process of learning to “thrive” instead.

So, what is my experience and background? To give you just a snapshot without a lot of details yet, I was born and raised just north of Seattle and have always lived in the Pacific Northwest. Growing up we had a “mini-farm” in a suburban neighborhood. We raised rabbits, chickens, ducks, geese, had several dogs, cats, hamsters, and a few pet lizards. We even had a Shetland pony for a while which my dad had rescued from an abusive situation. Our property used to be a cherry orchard, so we spent a lot of time playing outside climbing trees and making forts. I learned it was okay to get dirty and have fun. I also learned to work hard, be independent, and self-sufficient.

I worked many years in restaurants and hospitality, several years in social service with struggling families, and several years in state government working with unemployment and employment services, on the front-line helping job seekers prepare and look for jobs, behind the scenes in training and development, writing and delivering training. Overlapping all of this has been my direct sales business with Mary Kay Cosmetics, teaching women how to care for their skin, look their best, build their own business, and generally feel better.

Currently, I live with my husband Scott, in Wenatchee, which is in the beautiful foothills of the Cascade Mountains of Washington state. I have a son who is now a single father raising three kids. Scott has an adult son who stays with Scott’s mom in a separate apartment of our house. He also has a daughter who is living in Austria with her husband and their two kids. The “Life” section will include pictures and posts as life happens.

What has come out of all of it is I am constantly researching and learning new things. When I find something interesting, I like to share it. I’ve come to realize it’s what I do best: research and share information. That’s what this site is about. Hopefully, you will find something of interest to you. Please give me your feedback. If you have ideas or suggestions for topics let me know. If I also find it of interest I will research and share.

Like myself, this site is a work in progress and I’m sure it will change and develop over time as more is shared. Thank you for taking the journey with me!